## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the British Astronomical Association held on 2019 October 30 at Burlington House, Piccadilly, London W1J 0DU

The President, Mr Callum Potter, welcomed everyone to the AGM of the 129<sup>th</sup> Session, adding that this was his final AGM as President. He reminded members that copies of the 128<sup>th</sup> AGM held on 2018 October 31 had been displayed for inspection. They were approved and signed. The President then invited the Treasurer, Dr Geoff King, to report on the accounts.

Dr King told the meeting that a summary of the accounts was printed in the October Journal and that the full 21 page version is available on request and on the website. Assets now include  $\pounds$ 1.5 million in unrestricted funds. Last year saw an excess of income over expenditure of  $\pounds$ 316,244 of which approximately  $\pounds$ 400,000 was in bequests. These aside, there is an operational running deficit of  $\pounds$ 84,192, which was offset in the year by the increase in value of the long-term investments of  $\pounds$ 80,000. Section Directors will convene a meeting to discuss expenditure later in the month. In answer to questions, Dr King said that there were no conditions attached to bequests and that his estimate of the annual income from this source was  $\pounds$ 60-80,000. David Arditti proposed acceptance of the accounts, seconded by Hazel McGee and they were approved by members.

The President then began the annual review for the 2018/2019 Session by thanking the Council, Trustees and office staff for their invaluable work over the year. Three trustees are stepping down under the three-year rule: David Arditti, Janice McClean and Jeremy Shears and thanks are due to them. Special mention is owed to Peter Carson as membership co-ordinator and Andy Wilson as back office support. A new database is being put into place which should streamline office operations and be seamless from members' viewpoint. The President expressed gratitude to Hazel Collett for organizing an outstanding programme of meetings adding that she does a vast amount of work.

The Christmas lecture was held at the IOP: they had consulted the BAA over their lighting and we gave them the idea of installing lights in the shape of the Orion asterism. Most of our London meetings will be held there in future. The key events of the year had been a huge success with the Winchester weekend a firm favourite. The spring meeting at Rayleigh, summer at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and meetings at York, Armagh and Greenock generated interest. Other events – International Astronomy Show, New Scientist Live, Practical Astronomy Show and Astrofest – were also popular.

The Journal goes from strength to strength and thanks are due to the Editor, Philip Jennings, and to Hazel McGee for her support. Thanks also to Steve Harvey who produces the Handbook: Janice McClean produces a monthly Newsletter and the website team consisting of David Basey , John Chuter, James Dawson, Dominic Ford, Stuart Morris, Jeremy Shears, David Swan and Andy Wilson create everinteresting content. The Observer's Challenges have proved especially popular, as are the tutorials. The website community demonstrated increasing activity with notable coverage of Uranus and the spectrum of M87.

Sections have also been active: Jeff Lashley stepped down from the Radio Astronomy Group and was replaced by John Cook. At the Mercury and Venus Section, Paul Abel replaced Richard McKim as Director and in the VSS, Jeremy Shears replaced Roger Pickard after 20 years of service as Director. Notable meetings have been held by Deep Sky, Mars, Comet, Historical, Asteroids and Remote Planets Sections, with a Spectroscopy workshop thrown in. Thanks are due to all Directors and organizers.

The BAA had a presence at the National Astronomy Meeting in Lancaster where the President proposed and was given a session on pro-am collaboration.

Observational highlights for the year have included McNeill's Nebula which disappears completely at times, Gyulbudaghian's Nebula, also showing pronounced variability, the Spectroscopy Workshop's data from the dwarf nova SS Cygni and meteor spectroscopy. Members are making valuable contributions in the Exoplanet subsection and the Solar Section covered the eclipse visible from South America. Astronomy Photographer of the Year recognised contributions from two members, Martin Lewis and Damian Peach: entries will open again before too long.

The President then asked Mr Bill Tarver, Business Secretary to announce the results of the Board and Council ballot for the 2019/2020 session.

Mr Tarver said that the ballot counted on October 16 again had two components: the paper ballot and the online system created by the Electoral Reform Services. Combined results were as follows:

President:		Alan Lorrain	471	
Vice President:		Callum Potter	ex officio	
Treasurer:		Geoff King	464	
Business Secretary:		William Tarver	451	
Papers Secretary:		Jeremy Shears	475	
Meetings Secretary:		Hazel Collett	471	
Five elected <b>Trustee</b> Richard McKim	352			
Nick Hewitt	311			
John Chuter	300			
Peta Bosley	255			
Tim Parsons	222			

The votes of the remainder of those who stood as Trustee were added to their votes for Council members:

Five elected to **Council**:

David Boyd	386
Steve Bosley	363
Marie-Louise Archer	360
Ron Johnson	359
Owen Brazell	319
Total valid votes	126 paper, 420 on-line = 546
Invalid/spoilt	10 paper, 6 (blank or void) on-line = $16$
Voted twice	15 paper voting slips discarded

Bill Tarver thanked the scrutineers, Ms M. Davey, Ms J. Palmer and Ms Jayne Rickard.

The President congratulated all those who had been successful and welcomed the new members to Council and the Board of Trustees.

He then said that the Merlin Medal had been awarded to Robin Leadbeater and asked for members to think of any suitable candidates for next year's awards. Members applauded the award.

Minutes of the last Ordinary Meeting in Armagh were approved by the members present at the AGM, and the 47 members proposed at the September Ordinary Meeting were elected.

Mr Potter closed by saying that the new Articles of Association came into force and, after today, there would be no further election of members or minutes of Ordinary meetings. He then wished his successor as President the best of luck over the next two – or perhaps three if he chooses – years. Mr Alan Lorrain, President, then took the floor.